Selected junior debaters for 2019.
Selected junior debaters for the South African National Schools Debating Championship 2019.

The Limpopo Schools Debating Championship was hosted at Mitchell House on Saturday, 7 September 2019.

Three rounds of debating and a final debate later, Coach Mapitsi and the Limpopo Selectors had agreed on the debaters that would represent our province during the South African National Schools Debating Championship at the University of Pretoria.

Selection meetings are a dynamic process that take place between each round. Selectors convene and deliberate over which speakers performed well in different speaking positions. They also discussed a debater’s ability to create insightful arguments under pressure. Debaters also need to present these insightful ideas in a stylistically persuasive manner that convinces adjudicators and other debaters of the veracity of their arguments.

The debaters that caught the selectors ears and minds were:

Mantsi Maremane, Capricorn
Gundo Mukwevho, Capricorn
Mantswi Ramakgolo, Noorderland
Keletso Mongatane, Taxila
Dawn Dikgale, Capricorn
Rifumelo Mhlanga, Hanyani Thomo
Katlego Talane, Florapark
Karabo Katjedi, Florapark
Pearl Mothiba, Noorderland
Nthabiseng Lefophana, Bokamoso
Talent Mkavele, Hanyani Thomo
Kaybee Dankuru, Taxila
Refentse Manamela, Noorderland (Reserves)
Tsheamo Maleka, Capricorn (Reserves)

All the selected debaters will be part of a rigorous training programme that will refine their ability to create arguments, instill powerful presentation skills and encourage debaters to arrange arguments in ways that prioritise what really matters in a wide variety of topics.